Home » DIY » Art Folio: An Easy DIY Gift for Kids

Art Folio: An Easy DIY Gift for Kids

I know a lot of moms these days are trying to veer away from excess and piles of toys this Christmas. With that in mind, I struggled to think of a DIY gift for my 8-year-old cousin that wouldn’t be just another toy in the closet.

I found one of those make-up/jewelry folios for travel (they have that little hook so you can hang it up) and I had an idea. (You can find these in most cosmetic sections in stores like Wal-Mart or Target. The cheapest one I found online was from Target for about $12 here!)

IMG_5447.JPG

Zoe just loves to create. So why not make her an art kit she can take anywhere? It can tuck in a back pack, go with her to church, or hang from the seat in front of her in the car!

IMG_5456.JPG
You can either buy some things to include from the dollar store or you can look around your craft corner and find little extras you know your little one would enjoy!

I included a bunch of colored pens in the top pocket. The middle section has a pouch for mini scissors and glue, and another with a tiny notebook and pencils.

IMG_5449.JPGIn the larger pockets I stuck small pieces of scrapbook paper for snipping and gluing, as well as a pocket full of stickers.

IMG_5450.JPG
By gathering little things from my stash and the dollar store, I was able to complete this gift for about $15.

Let us know if you try it out or post your ideas for other things to include!

Leave a Reply

